“L” is for Love

Welcome to the “Spell it with Fabric” blog hop!
I look forward to share the letter “L” with you and a few things that I love.

I was assigned the letter “L” for Laundry Basket Quilts. I am super excited about it, not only because “L” is an easy letter to piece, but also because “L” is for “Love” and there is no doubt that I love what I do!

Through travels I can see patient and generous ”Love” in others that create with threads.

Both men…

… and women express themselves in fibers. There are no borders or boundaries for creativity, our inner soul spills into our project and delivers an outward expression of ourselves.

I experienced this with my letter “L”, as soon as finished piecing my block, I wanted to leave my “fingerprint” on it.

I used some “Jellybean” Silhouettes for the applique to make it mine.

Jellybean batiks are so beautiful, I took a blue strip from the jelly roll and made another letter. Since “L” is also for leaves I couldn’t help but imagine how beautiful this fall “L” could be.

I wanted to make one after another, this ”L” is using some of the “Jellybean” colors

I tell you, I was having so much fun it was “crazy”.

No matter what I did with the letter, even making it small enough to fit in my hand, there was no stopping!

With some small adjustments, I even made some companions for my “L” to fit in a little quilt.

I realized that part of the “Love” that I was feeling was fueled by the range of colors that I was showered with in the “Jellybean” fabric collection.

Colors that inspire us in unexpected places to create.

“Jellybean” fabric collection is a wonderful combination of printed fabric and batiks. It will be arriving in quilt shops April 2014 and I hope that it will inspire you!
In case you can’t wait…

Please leave me a comment with your favorite color by Feb 28th for a chance to win our random drawing and get your hands on this “Jellybean” fabric bundle.

Don’t forget to download your “L” pattern from the link below and be sure to visit the blogs on this Hop to collect all of the letters.

(click here to download the “L” letter pattern)

Love these Letters, thank you for stopping by to visit and don’t miss the other stops today!

Lauren + Jessi Jung - http://laurenandjessiblog.com/
Kansas Troubles - http://kansastroublesquilters-lynne.blogspot.com/
Lily Ashbury - http://lilyashbury.com/blog/

Happy Quilting!
Edyta

Posted in Quilting | 959 Comments

“Spell it with Fabric” – Moda Blog Hop

Another wonderful Moda Blog Hop starts this week!
Be sure to make to all the stops on this Hop and not miss any of the fun!

FEBRUARY 17
American Jane - http://modafabrics.blogspot.com/
Aneela Hoey - http://comfortstitching.typepad.co.uk/
Bunny Hill - http://bunnyhillblog.com/
Cotton Way - http://cottonway.blogspot.com/

FEBRUARY 18
Piecing Directions - http://modafabrics.blogspot.com/
Deb Strain -  http://debstrain.blogspot.com/
Kathy Schmitz - http://kathyschmitzstudio.blogspot.com/
Fig Tree and Co. - http://figtreequilts.typepad.com/my_weblog/

FEBRUARY 19
French General - http://frenchgeneral.blogspot.com/
Janet Clare - http://janetclare.co.uk/blog/
Basic Grey - http://blog.basicgrey.com/

FEBRUARY 20
Lauren + Jessi Jung - http://laurenandjessiblog.com/
Kansas Troubles - http://kansastroublesquilters-lynne.blogspot.com/
Laundry Basket Quilts - http://www.laundrybasketquilts.com/blog/
Lily Ashbury - http://lilyashbury.com/blog/

FEBRUARY 21
Me and My Sister Designs - http://meandmysisterdesigns.com/blog/
Kate Spain - http://katespaindesigns.blogspot.com/
Jan Patek - http://janpatek.blogspot.com/
Pat Sloan - http://blog.patsloan.com/

FEBRUARY 24
Primitive Gatherings - http://lisabongean.wordpress.com/
Minick and Simpson - http://minickandsimpson.blogspot.com/
Stephanie Ryan - http://www.stephanieryandesign.com/blog/

FEBRUARY 25
Sweetwater - http://sweetwater.typepad.com/makelifesweet/
Thimbleblossoms - http://www.camilleroskelley.typepad.com/
Sandy Gervais - http://piecesfrommyheart-sgervais.blogspot.com/

FEBRUARY 26
Vanessa Christenson - http://www.vanessachristenson.com/
Malka Dubrawski - http://stitchindye.blogspot.com/
Blackbird Designs - http://blackbird-designs.blogspot.com/

FEBRUARY 27
Barbara Brackman - http://barbarabrackman.blogspot.com/
Zen Chic - http://www.farbstoff-bridge.blogspot.com/
Gina Martin - http://www.patternandhue.com/

FEBRUARY 28
Setting Directions - http://modafabrics.blogspot.com/
Winners Announced on ALL Designer Blogs listed above

Posted in Quilting | 4 Comments

Traveling Patch Worldwide Fabric Exchange

Winter is in full force around here, but Kim and the crew from Prairie Stitches Quilt Shoppe have come up with a fun exchange idea sure to warm anyone in this cold weather! A “Worldwide Traveling Fabric Exchange” to celebrate National Quilting Day, March 15, 2014.

Kim and  Prairie Stitches Quilt Shoppe are no stranger to these types of fabric exchanges.
I did a half square triangle exchange with them a couple of years ago and had so much fun. This time it will be all about Polka Dots!

This swap couldn’t be easier!

You don’t have to sew a thing, just send  60- 10″ squares of “quilt store quality” fabric to the shop. The squares can be cut from one fabric, cut from your stash, or from an assortment of dots, as long as it totals 60 – 10″ squares.

I cut 60 squares from my new “Snowbird” collection, wrote a little note introducing myself and saying hello to a new friend somewhere in the world, and packed each square into a separate envelope. Finally I put all of the envelopes into a small box along with my payment for shipping and send them to Kim.  (details about shipping costs here)

Kim’s crew will handle everything else! Each person who participates by sending 60 squares will receive 60 separate “Polka Dot Pal” envelopes (each with a 10″ square). Once you have all these fabrics, there will be inspiration and projects with what to do with your new treasures.

If you are interested in joining the fun, please read the complete set of guidelines here and remember you must sign up by March 15, 2014.
I can’t wait to share my squares with you and see my mailbox fill up with your beautiful polka dot squares!

Posted in Quilting | 4 Comments

Merry Christmas Winners!

Happy New Year!
We have drawn 12 random winners for our ”Snowbird” Fabric Bags!

The winners are below and have been notified by email.

Debra
Jodi
Mary C
Stephanie
Freda
Linda
yhqny
Shawna
Diane
Barbara
donna
Susan

You can use your bag of scraps to create blocks from your favorite designs, or I have also noticed that Moda Lissa has a “Quilt Along” on her blog using these fabrics. No matter how you plan to use them I hope they make an enjoyable start to this New Year for you!

Thank you to everyone for participating and please visit us again!
Edyta

Posted in Quilting | 15 Comments